Hi Joe
You are talking about Payment Form ? Unfortunately, that's the only way for now. If they register for an account but didn't complete payment, the account will be remain within Joomla and users won't be able to use that username or email again. If you want they to use it again, you will have to go to Users Manager, delete that user !
Tuan