I have Membership Pro and have set up a trial plan that is free and cannot be renewed and a paid plan that can be upgraded to. I notice that once the free plan is expired, the users cannot then upgrade to the paid plan unless they sign up again (new membership). However, once the paid plan is expired, the members are still able to renew that paid plan.
How can I set it so that the "manage my membership" page allows the expired users (from the free trial non-renewable plan) to upgrade to the paid plan?
Or, if this is not possible, how can I set it so that the free trial plan can be renewed as a paid plan?
My setup: I have, for example, two plans:
1) Plan "Trial". Is cost free. Lasts a year then expires, cannot be renewed. During the plan can be upgraded to Subscriber plan. When signed up, places members into the user groups Registered and Trial. When expired or upgraded removes the Trial group but Registered remains.
2) Plan "Subscriber". Costs $ each year. Can be renewed. When signed up, places members into the user groups Registered and Subscriber. When expired removes the Subscriber group but Registered remains.
My "Manage my membership" page also includes the modules: "Membership Status", "Membership Pro View - Renew Membership", and "Membership Pro View - Upgrade Membership".
- Create a folder called override under components/com_osmembership/helper folder
- Get this file, unzip it, upload to components/com_osmembership/helper/override folderwhich you created folder
When you do that, the system will allow upgrading, even your original subscription was expired. Please try that and let me know if it works. So in this case, you should not set Enable Renewal for the plan to Yes, it should be set to No
Yes, that workaround appears to allow a user with an expired plan which cannot be renewed to change to another plan. In this case, it appears to offer the plans which would have been upgrade options while their prev plan was active.
Thanks for the workaround.
Still, since "free trial" plans will typically work this way, I wonder if this should be an included feature? It could be listed under the options for plans just below the "Enable Renewal" option, called "Allow upgrade after plan is expired", and could only be an active option is "Enable Renewal" is set to "No".
Thanks again for the workaround. If this becomes a standard feature, I'd be interested as then I should delete the workaround code.
It's a 50-50 case, I think. In the past, we allow expired subscribers (of the free plans) to upgrade but then many customers complained that why do we allow upgrade when their original subscription expired?
That was the reason we removed expired plans from allowing to upgrade. So for now, please use that custom override which I provided. It is implemented using override, so it won't be lost when you upgrade to future releases of the extension, don't worry